Welcome To My New Blog

When Blake invited me back to staff at another year of the Unschool Adventures writing retreat, he asked me what I was thinking about writing this time. I immediately knew that I wasn’t interested in doing the NaNoWriMo challenge again; there’s something very engrossing and energizing about writing so much fiction in such a short period of time, but after completing NaNo three times (in 2005, 2009, and 2011) and finishing with three novels that would sit, untouched forever on my laptop, I knew I was ready for something different. I ran through various possibilities and quickly rejected the majority of them.

Short stories? Nope, hate those.
Memoir? My life in the pottery studio, though I love it, does not make for a captivating read.
Poetry? I’ve written it before, but as a friend once remarked “the time between when I write it and when it makes me gag is approximately the length of the shelf life of a gallon of whole milk.”
Graphic Novel? I’m a three dimensional artist for a reason.
Children’s book? Yes, it would be called Little Suzy Learns That Correlation Does Not Imply Causation, and Other Parables.

Then I remembered how much fun I had keeping a travel blog while in India. I enjoyed getting feedback from readers and friends, and I looked forward to crafting posts that I found interesting and that I thought would inform, enlighten or entertain. I also liked the idea of producing less content with more editing; while I think the fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants approach that is NaNoWriMo can be beneficial, it’s definitely not my style. Hence, this blog was born.

My goal is to write and publish twenty blog posts between now and the end of the retreat on November 15th. These first few days have been busy,  and I’m already behind schedule, but I’m publicly declaring my goal so that there is more pressure and incentive for me to complete it.

The topics that I cover during this month might seem a little schizophrenic in nature. So far, I’m planning to write about pottery, my new excitement for baking and cake decorating, my experiences in a Meisner Technique acting class, my decision to drop out of college, and my camp resolution to stop weighing myself for a year. However, my intention is to blog about topics that I find compelling and/or about which I have significant knowledge. My background as an unschooler has insured that those topics are wide and weird, as it turns out.

I hope you enjoy.

-Brenna

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Welcome To My New Blog

  1. Thanks for sharing. I am very impressed by the looks of your blog. Simple, clear and beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

